I Could Have Used a Billion Dollars

Yup, I got sucked in.

Thursday afternoon, I filled out my NCAA bracket and went to bed dreaming of getting my hands on a billion dollars of Warren Buffet’s money. That fantasy lasted about as long as it took Dayton to take down Ohio State, in the very first game. I’m in good company, though; according to reports, not a single entrant made it through the weekend.

For the record, the odds of having a perfect bracket are about 9.2 quintillion to one, whatever a quintillion is. We’re more likely to win the Powerball jackpot, find Jimmy Hoffa buried in my backyard or marry Salma Hayek than win this thing.

So I’m left with a contest for bragging rights against my buddy Gordon – one-on-one, mano y mano. Going into todays games, I’m 25 of 40; he’s up by two games, but I like my odds. He picked Villanova to win it all, and they lost to Connecticut last night.

I still have five of my final eight alive – Villanova, Ohio State and Oklahoma messed me up early. In the end, I have Virginia beating Wisconsin for the title, with Florida and Michigan rounding out my Final Four. With no money on the line, though, I’m rooting for Dayton – I love the underdog.

But next year, watch out. I’m planning on winning it all. I already have my eye on a nice little island in the Caribbean; a billion dollars will go a long way.

Leave a Reply

